Inici > Invocació de l'Odissea > Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story

Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story

Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story

of that man skilled in all ways of contending,

the wanderer, harried for years on end,

after he plundered the stronghold

on the proud height of Troy.

He saw the townlands

and learned the minds of many distant men,

and weathered many bitter nights and days

Robert Fitzgerald (1910 - 1985)

in his deep heart at sea, while he fought only

to save his life, to bring his shipmates home.

But not by will nor valor could he save them,

for their own recklesness destroyed them all—

children and fools, they killed and feasted on

the catte of Lord Hêlios, the Sun,

and he who moves all day through heaven

took from their eyes the dawn of their return.

 

Odyssey, I, 1-10. Odissea, I, 1-10


Translation by Robert Fitzgerald.


Homer. The Odyssey.

Translated by Robert Fitzgerald.

Vintage Books. London 2007.

ISBN: 9780099511687

  1. Encara no hi ha cap comentari.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Deixa un comentari

