Inici > Ecos de l'Odissea > Edmund Spenser. Penelope for her Ulisses sake …

Edmund Spenser. Penelope for her Ulisses sake …

.

.

.

Amoretti XXIII

Penelope for her Ulisses sake

.

Penelope for her Ulisses sake,
……….Deviz’d a Web her wooers to deceave:
……….In which the worke that she all day did make
……….The same at night she did again unreave:
.
Such subtile craft my Damzell doth conceave,
……….Th’ importune suit of my desire to shnone:
……….For all that I in many dayes doo weave,
……….In one short houre I find by her undonne.
.
So when I thinke to end that I begonne,
……….I must begin and never bring to end:
……….For with one looke she spils that long I sponne,
……….And with one word my whole years work doth rend.
.
Such labour like the Spyders web I fynd,
……….Whose fruitless worke is broken with least wynd.
.
.
Edmund Spenser
.
.
..
..
.
Not so great wonder and astonishment,
did the most chast Penelope possesse, 
To see her Lord, that was reported drent,
And dead long since in dolorous distresse,
Come home to her in piteous wretchednesse,
After long trauell of full twenty yeares,
That she knew not his fauours likelynesse,
For many scarres and many hoary hears,
But stood long staring on him, mongst vncertaine feares.
.
.
Edmund Spenser
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Edmund Spenser (Londres, c. 1552 – Londres, 13 gener 1599)

.

.
.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Edmund Spenser’s Amoretti and Epithalamion
a critical edition
Kenneth J. Larsen.

  1. Encara no hi ha cap comentari.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Deixa un comentari

